7.—Height of Principal Mountain Peaks in each Province and Territory by Mountain Range—concluded

Province, Mountain Range and Peak	Elevation	Territory, Mountain Range and Peak	Elevation
	ft.		ſt.
British Columbia—concluded	ļ	Yukon Territory	
Rockies-	1	St. Elias Mountains—	
Robson	12,972	Logan	19,850
Clemenceau	12,001	St. Elias	18,008
Goodsir	11,676	Lucania	17,150
Bryce	11,507	King	17,130
Chown	11,500	Steele	16,439
Resplendent	11,240	Wood	15,880
King George	11,226	Vancouver	15,700
Consolation	11,200	Hubbard	14,950
The Helmet	11,160	Walsh	14,780
Whitehorn	11,101	Alverstone	14,500
Geikie	11,016	McArthur	14,400
Bush	11,000	Augusta	14,070
Sir Alexander	11,000	Strickland	13,818
Freshfield	10,945	Newton	13,811
Mummery	10,918	Cook	13,760
Vaux (Vermillion Range)	10,881	Craig	13,250
Ball,	10,865	Badham	12,625
Stephen	10,485	Malaspina	12,150
Cathedral	10,454	Jeannette	11,700
Storm	10,372	Baird	11,375
Gordon	10,346	Seattle	10,070
President	10,287		
Odaray	10,165	NY 47 4 PR 14	
Laussedat	10,015	Northwest Territories	1
Mount Burgess	8,463	Franklin Mountains—	1
	1	Delthore	6.800
St. Elias Mountains—	1	Clark Mountain	3,000 to
Fairweather	15,287	Clark Mountain	4.000
Root	12,860	Ellesmere Area—	4,000
		Mount Rawlinson	5.000
Monashee-	Į.	DIOUNG TEAWHIISON	0,000
Mount Begbie	8,946	Victoria Island—	
		Mount Pelly	675
Vancouver Island Range-	1	Miduly 1 city	010
Mount Albert Edward.	6.968	Banks Island—	
Mount Arrowsmith	5,976	Nelson Head	1,000
MOUNT ATTOWNING	0,910	TIOISON LICAU	1,000

Section 2.—Main Physical and Economic Features of the Provinces

Politically Canada is divided into ten provinces and two territories. Each of the provinces is sovereign in its own sphere, as set out in the British North America Act 1867 and its amendments, and as new provinces have been organized they have been granted political status equivalent to that of the original provinces. The Yukon and Northwest Territories, with their present boundaries, are administered by the Federal Government. The chief physical and economic features of each of the provinces and of the territories are reviewed below. Details of resources and their development are given in later chapters.

Newfoundland.—Newfoundland, once the oldest colony of the British Empire, is the newest and most easterly province of Canada. It comprises the Coast of Labrador, an area of 112,630 sq. miles on the mainland, and the Island of Newfoundland. Separating the two portions is the Strait of Belle Isle, $9\frac{1}{2}$ miles in width at its narrowest point. From Nova Scotia across Cabot Strait the distance is 70 miles. The Island is triangular in shape, the three sides each being about 320 miles long, and it has an area of 42,734 sq. miles. The climate of the Island is temperate, having cool summers and mild winters. Climatic conditions in Labrador are more severe.